Tags

, , , ,

Searching for inspiration, one of us came across a book from the 70’s “The Forgotten Art of Building a Stone Wall” by Curtis P. Fields. It’s a technical book and in part 2, Fields talks about finding and working with stone:

Forgotten Art_Fields

     While mowing the lawn one day I found myself ‘fed up’ with dodging a stone, the corner of which stuck up some eight or nine inches. Fetching a spade, I dug and dug and dug until I had uncovered a flat ledge of beautiful mica schist six feet long, thirty-five inches wide, and heaven only knows how deep. It was buried at an angle of some sixty degrees.
     I made a line parallel to its face four inches down. Then I drilled six 4″ holes and inserted wedges and shims in each. The sledge hammer soon produced the beginnings of a straight crevice which the crowbar quickly widened. Then I wrapped a log chain around the resulting slab. Hitched to the Jeep, the stone was soon coaxed out of its hole and onto the stone boat. With the Jeep’s help it was dragged to a spot near the northwest door of the house. There–thanks to wooden rollers on planks–it was soon installed as a decorative and most welcome doorstep.

Well, he may as well be talking about writing because, like building a stone wall, writing is hard work and sometimes instead of building a wall, you wind up with a doorstep.

